How to Restore From Time Machine Backup

Restore From Time Machine Backup, You would like to rebuild your Mac or have you deleted an important file? No problem if you have a Time Machine backup. Although macOS is a secure and stable operating system, this is no guarantee against problems or operator errors. Quick folders, programs or files are thoughtlessly moved to the trash. Even Apple’s automatic memory function is a source of eternal annoyance: images, documents and other files are quickly overwritten.

Fortunately, there’s Apple’s Time Machine: If the backup runs on an external hard drive or NAS, you can restore the file or even the whole Mac at any time. That’s how it works:

Restore From Time Machine Backup Mac completely

Restoring a full time-machine backup is both when setting up a new Mac or Mac with a new hard drive, and when it’s already set up .

Restore From Time Machine Backup

Applying Mac Time Machine Backup

When you start up a new Mac, macOS asks you if you want to back up. Choose ” From a Mac, Time Machine Backup, or Startup Disk ” and connect your old Mac’s backup disk. Then click on ” Continue “. Now select the backup disk and click on ” Continue “. Then the read-back process starts, which may take a while depending on the size of the backup.

Applying Time Machine Backup to a Mac That Has Already Set Up

If you’ve already started using your Mac, there’s no problem  there’s a tool from Apple , the Migration Assistant . You will find it in / Applications / Utilities . Start the program, which first quits all programs and switches the Mac to migration mode. The procedure is then identical to step 1 of this paragraph.

Restore lost files

If you accidentally delete a file or folder, you can easily restore it using Time Machine backup:

Step 1:

Before restoring a file using Time Machine , look in the recycle bin of your Mac in the dock: the deleted file may still be there. If so, you can simply drag it to the desktop or right- click on it. Select ” move back ” to move the file to the original location.

Step 2:

If the file is no longer in the trash, Time Machine comes into play. Make sure you have connected the backup drive and then open the Applications folder . Here you will find the app ” Time Machine “, which you can open by double-clicking .

Step 3:

If the file is no longer in the trash, Time Machine comes into play. Make sure you have connected the backup drive and then open the Applications folder . Here you will find the app ” Time Machine “, which you can open by double-clicking .

Step 4:

Time Machine will now show you a Finder window with other Finder windows stacked behind it. First navigate to the folder from which you deleted the file .

Step 5:

Now click on the arrows to the right of the Finder window : If you click up, you will go back in time. Repeat this until you see the file. You can then retrieve them from the backup by clicking on ” Restore “.

Step 6:

Sometimes it is necessary to restore a file to a different location. This can be done by right-clicking onthe file and selecting ” Restore (filename) to … “. Then macOS offers you a folder selection in which you can save the file.

Alternatively, you can also reset files to a different state of editing : There is a second time-machine backup on each Mac , which saves the files locally. This function is useful if, for example, you edited a picture with Preview and then closed it, which made it impossible to undo editing with [CMD] + [Z]:

Step 1:

Open the file in which you have performed edits that you now regret. Select ” File ” -> ” Reset to ” -> ” Search All Versions ” in the menu bar of the program .

Step 2:

Now a Time Machine window will open where you will only see the file. To the right you will see all cached versions . Click the up arrow until you find the version to which you want to reset the file and choose Restore .

Step 3:

Alternatively, you can also save the older version of the file elsewhere: Hold down the [Alt] key : ” Restore ” becomes ” Restore a copy “. Click here to select the location.

Restore From Time Machine Backup : Method 2

1- Start Time Machine: Call Time Machine to restore data

To restore documents from a backup, open the folder to be searched in the Finder and start Time Machine, most simply with the command “Open Time Machine” in the Time Machine menu. The folder is then automatically displayed in Time Machine. Mouse clicks on the large arrow keys or on one of the windows then move through the individual backup copies. In the lower bar you can see which backup copy is currently displayed.

2- The timeline: Quickly get to a specific backup via the timeline

To jump directly to the backup of a particular day or week, use the timeline on the right edge of the screen in the Time Machine window. If you move the mouse over the bar, a date appears for each, for which a backup exists. Once you have found the date you are looking for, just click on it to show the backup of this day or week in the window. In the window you can then switch to any folder as in the Finder.

3- Browse Backup: The backup data can be searched with Spotlight

If you do not find the documents you are looking for with the scroll and the timeline, you can use the search. First, open the folder to be searched and type in the search field of the window the search term. Now you have to decide if you want to search on the whole Mac or only in the previously opened directory. Then click on the big arrow pointing backwards. Then Time Machine goes to the first backup version, which matches the search criteria. The arrow will take you to earlier backup copies.

4- Restore files and folders from a backup

Once you have found the documents or folders that you want to retrieve in Time Machine, mark them in the window and click on “Restore”. Time Machine now copies the objects from the backup to the directory in which they were originally stored. If there is already a file or folder of the same name in this directory, Time Machine warns, and you can choose to replace the existing object, keep the original, or save both versions. If the parent directory of the object no longer exists, Time Machine offers to recreate it. Alternatively, you can choose a different location.

5- Delete Backup: Backup can be used to remove backed up data

If there are files or folders in the time-machine backup that you want to remove from the backup, you first look for these objects as if you were restoring them. Once found, mark them and click on the action menu with the gear icon in the toolbar. Here is the command “Delete all backups from …”. If you select it, all occurrences on the backup disk will be removed. The menu also contains the command “Delete backup”. This deletes the entire backup that is currently selected, for example, a whole day or a week.

6- Other Volume: replace the current backup volume with another

If you do not just want to break the backup with Time Machine to a certain backup medium by setting the slide switch in the “Time Machine” system setting to “Off”, but you want to remove it, in the “Time Machine” system setting, click on “Volume choose”. Now mark the backup volume at the top of the window and then click on “Remove Disk”. To start the backup later on another medium, select this one. Under “Options” Time Machine has noticed which data was previously excluded from the backup.

 

How to Restore From Time Machine Backup
Rate this post